Jeff Swartz on the next big thing in media

Touching on everything and anything to do with media, advertising, and marketing

Size Matters When Interning

This summer I will be interning at The Next Wave: Advertising and Marketing Firm in Dayton, Ohio. It is a small firm with lots of experience and talent backing it…basically just what I was looking for. I believed that in order to get the best and most diverse educational experience in and internship which will enhance my skills in multiple fields a small business would benefit me over a large one. I do not start for about a month and through visiting the company once a week for about two months I came to realize that smaller is better.

It appears I will be working in multiple areas including research, creative development, and finalizing of projects. I understand that this will be an ample amount of work and pressure for me. However, I am excited to take on any challenge knowing that the experience I am receiving will be more valuable to me than a higher paying internship where my most important task was getting everyone’s coffee just how they like it.

April 25, 2006 - Posted by | Diverse topics, Media 2.0

1 Comment »

  1. Jeff
    Awhile ago you called me to task for making fun of Facebook and what thoes guys were smoking.
    Well, I’ve got to tell you that 2B still seems far fetched but extending into high schools and now companies (see Mike Arringtons post today over at Tech Crunch) Maybe they were right in turning down that offer when they did.
    Jim
    Is That Cool or What

    and god luck with the internship

    Comment by Jim Lyons | May 1, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

