Jeff Swartz on the next big thing in media

Touching on everything and anything to do with media, advertising, and marketing

Above the Influence Anti-Drug Commercials

The Above the Influence commercials tend to had an individual being controlled by others and resulting in doing stupid stuff. As I was searching for the commercials I found many websites remarking how stupid and ineffective the ads are. I never found them to be that good and individuals who have indulged in drugs find them incredibly stupid and funny just as a lot of cigarette smokers find the Stand ads to be ineffective and simply amusing.

Although the message maybe good, the effectiveness of stopping users seems to be low; however, it may help prevent the youth from starting to do drugs a little. But the topic is somewhat interesting and I found Above the Influence commercials’ website–> HERE. They have the deflated girl, squished girl, people changing a guy’s appearance, the fist in mouth, and others.

Here is one of the dialogue from the boy being chased by Tic Tic the lumber-yard dog:

“Yesterday, my friends told me to smoke some weed. And I did.

Then today, they said I should try to outrun Tic Tic, the lumberyard dog. And I don’t think I can make it.

I’m an idiot. I’m doing stupid stuff. And that ain’t me.”

June 29, 2006 - Posted by | Advertising, Internet, Media 2.0, Television

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

